Trader Joes…you are my hero : Teriyaki Shrimp and String Beans

Gallery

20120401-223935.jpg

So my favorite Chinese take-out, Wing Wah, makes this amazing dish fantastically called “Shrimp and String Beans”. Rarely do I try to recreate Wing Wah’s food simply because in 20 minutes and for $6, Karen (the owner) has her husband at my doorstep like the mailmen-through rain, snow, or shine. But, this Sunday evening while I was waiting for Mamela to get home from the airport, I was trying to figure out what to feed her after a six-hour flight from LAX. A tradition in our family is to always grab Wing Wah when one of us “comes home” from being abroad – a sort of “NYC missed you” meal. But as I heard the rain come steadily down outside my kitchen window, I thought of that poor old Chinese man riding his bike, wearing a plastic bag to stay dry, and decided to give him the night off.

This is where Trader Joes came flying in with cape, leotard, and utility belt included. One bag of Trader Joes Brown Jasmine Rice, 1 bag of Trader Joes Cooked Shrimp (frozen), 1/2 a bottle of Trader Joes Island Soyaki sauce, and 1/2 a bag of Trader Joes French Green Beans. Throw in my trusty Le Crueset wok and 5-qt pot and give me 40 minutes – while it may not have been Wing Wah, it sure did the trick of welcoming Mamela home.

20120401-225141.jpg

7 responses »

  1. I just want to mention I am very new to blogs and seriously liked this page. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your website . You absolutely have impressive stories. With thanks for sharing your web page.

    • Thank you very much for your thoughts! I sincerely hope that you do bookmark this, or even better, choose to follow my blog so that you are notified each time I make a posting. I hope that my stories continue to impress you – I love what I do and am happy to share :).

Leave a Reply

